The AREMA Educational Foundation is a tax-exempt, charitable organization established by the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-of-Way Association (AREMA) to promote educational activities related to railway engineering. The Foundation provides scholarships to engineering students who are specializing in the railway industry and supports other educational and training endeavors that help to ensure the future of the profession.



The AREMA Educational Foundation provides scholarships to engineering students who are specializing in the railway industry and supports other educational and training endeavors that help to ensure the future of the profession.


Watford Fellowship

The AREMA Educational Foundation in cooperation with the US Committee to the Watford Group of International Railway Designers has created a unique learning opportunity for an aspiring railway employee to gain international perspective of railroad design and operations called the “Watford Fellowship.”



AREMA’s Education and Training Committee developed the Railway Engineering Education Symposium (REES). REES is intended to foster interest among university faculty in railway engineering with the goal of encouraging and supporting their interest in adding railway engineering content to their current engineering courses and curricula. The inaugural REES was held in June 2008, at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in Urbana, Illinois.


Your Contribution Makes a Difference

“Out of the four years I have been an AREMA student member, I have received three scholarships. This has affected me in the most positive way possible. These scholarships have allowed me to not only continue my education but also continue my goal of making a career in the industry I have such a passion for. These scholarships have allowed me to attend school without having to worry about where I will get money for textbooks, supplies or housing. In a sense, these scholarships have let me focus on one thing, being a student.” 

– Derek O., Michigan Technological University  
Committee 24 - Education & Training
Scholarship Recipient – 2017