Watford Fellowship

Congratulations to the 2019 Watford Fellows

Rafer Nichols, BNSF Railway
Rebecca Reyman, Amtrak 
Kent Shue, BNSF Railway
The AREMA Educational Foundation in cooperation with the US Committee to the Watford Group of International Railway Designers has created a unique learning opportunity for aspiring railway employees to gain international perspective of railroad design and operations called the "Watford Fellowship." The Fellowship consists of three paid registrations to the Watford Conference in Europe valued at approximately US$1600.00. The event is organized yearly by the railway personnel from the various train operating companies and will include tours of recent infrastructure and rolling stock projects. The four day conference, targeted for late October, includes presentations by the attendees in all aspects of railway planning and design with an emphasis on buildings, bridge and tunnel structures, and corporate identity. The host city will be identified on or about July 1.

The Watford Group was created in 1963 by British Railways to encourage the exchange of ideas and promote design excellence among its operating regions; other countries were invited to join and subsequently, over twenty nations are now eligible to send delegates to the annual Watford Conference. The Watford Group is one of the very few global organizations that integrate all aspects of rail transportation under the umbrella of "good design is good business."

The goals of this initiative are twofold: to broaden professional horizons of aspiring railroaders while enabling them to carry the AREMA brand internationally and, to add new members to the US Watford Committee that can carry on the tradition of Watford Conference participation and the educational benefits that accrue.

The 2017 fellowship went to Thomas C. Cornillie of Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority (Committees 11 and 16). He joins Michael Zucker of Union Pacific (Committee 14), John Lyon of Amtrak (Committee 6) and Megan McIntyre of BNSF Railway (Committee 24) as past recipients of this prestigious fellowship.

More Information

Application and Certification